Pittman, Major & Oberlander Announce Over $2.3 Million for Armstrong County Public Infrastructure Projects

HARRISBURG – Sen. Joe Pittman (R-41) and Reps. Abby Major (R-60) and Donna Oberlander (R-63) announced more than $2.3 million in public infrastructure grants have been awarded to Armstrong County communities for five local projects.

The public infrastructure grants are part of two different programs, the COVID-19 ARPA PA Small Water and Sewer Program (SWS) and the COVID-19 ARPA H2O PA program (H2O PA). These investments were approved by the Commonwealth Financing Authority (CFA) on December 19, 2023 in Harrisburg.

The following funding was awarded for projects in Armstrong County:

  • $1.2 million H2O PA grant for the Kittanning Suburban Joint Water Authority for a water line extension in East Franklin Township;
  • $496,702 SWS grant for South Buffalo Township Municipal Authority to help with the McVille Road waterline extension located in South Buffalo Township;
  • $402,877 SWS grant for Parks Township Municipal Authority to extend waterline piping in Parks Township;
  • $105,778 SWS grant for Rayburn Township Joint Municipal Authority for its Sloan Hill pressure reducing valve vault project located in Rayburn Township; and
  • $96,604 SWS grant for Apollo Borough to replace a culvert located in Apollo Borough.

“Water and sewer projects are an essential part of maintaining the health and safety of our communities, but often come with a high cost,” Pittman said. “I’m pleased to have worked to ensure this state support will be invested locally and can help to assist with necessary improvements. This is a great day, as these projects will improve services to numerous Armstrong County municipalities and local residents.”

“I’m pleased to support these important projects for the 60th Legislative District,” Major said. “The exorbitant cost to extend needed water lines makes it nearly impossible to complete these projects without assistance from the state. I remain committed to supporting low-interest loans and grant programs in order to ensure clean drinking water for residents.”

“The Sloan Hill project is very important in our community,” Oberlander said. “To reduce pressure on the valve vault can be advantageous when diagnosing a problem with the valve assembly. The ease of access makes it possible to quickly perform valve maintenance while minimizing downtime, which is imperative with sewage pumping. I was happy to advocate for this funding.”

Established by the General Assembly in 2008, the H2O PA program provides for single-year and multi-year grants for the construction of drinking water, sanitary sewer and storm sewer projects; the construction or renovation of flood control projects; and the repair or rehabilitation of high-hazard unsafe dams.

The SWS Program provides grants for small water, sewer and storm water infrastructure projects. Municipalities and municipal authorities that own and maintain a public water supply, sanitary sewer or storm water systems are eligible to apply as long as their projects exceed a total cost of $30,000.

Media Contacts:           

Kate Eckhart Flessner (Sen. Pittman)
Tracy Polovick (Rep. Major)
Rick Leiner (Rep. Oberlander)                                

Back to Top